Fashion

8 Wardrobe Essentials Every Woman Should Own

No matter your style – preppy, bohemian, romantic – there are certain clothes that every woman should have. These wardrobe staples are classic pieces that will never go out of style, so you can wear them at any age. And because they’re basics, they can be styled with almost anything. These wardrobe essentials are your closet’s foundation, and building outfits around them will ensure that you always look stylish.

T-Shirts

Dress them up with nice jeans and heels or dress them down with shorts and flipflops. Either way, t-shirts are universally recognized as a closet staple. The ways to style them are endless. The classic t-shirts everyone needs are the white tee, black tee, and striped tee (although these can be long-sleeved if you prefer). Your black tee and striped tee should be high quality so they’ll last you a while, but don’t spend too much on a white t-shirt. No matter how nice it is, white t-shirts always fade quickly and should be replaced regularly.

T-shirt Basics

H&M Jersey TopJ. Crew Striped Boatneck T-Shirt

Jeans

The next basic is a pretty obvious one. Blue jeans have been a staple item more men and women ever since Bruce Springsteen’s “Born in the U.S.A.” cover made them popular. You probably already have a pair of blue jeans in your closet, but make sure you have a pair of black jeans as well. Black jeans are blue jeans dressier counterpart. They are more appropriate to wear to dinner and look great with strappy heels for a night out.

Jeans Wardrobe Essential

Good American Jeans

Skirt

I left the title vague intentionally because everyone has a certain style of skirt they prefer. Some women rock pencil skirts, others prefer maxi skirts, and I like every single type. But my go-to skirt is my high-waist, flared skirt in navy blue. It’s the perfect colour to pair with nearly all my tops and the style is flattering for every body type. I like to pair this skirt with my striped tee when I want to feel French.

Skirt Wardrobe Staple

Uniqlo Skirt

Sundress

If you live in a colder climate, a sundress might not be a staple in your closet. But in sunny California, a sundress is basically my uniform. On the rare occasion that the temperature drops below 70 degrees, I can throw a sweater over it. Most of the time, though, you can find me running around in my sundress, shoulders bare. The best thing about sundresses is that you don’t have to put any thought into getting dressed in the morning. Just through a dress on and you’re done. My personal hero is the person who designed the first sundress. So of course, I had to put it on my list of wardrobe essentials.

Sundress Wardrobe Staple

Sundress Wardrobe Staple

 

Statement Coat

The next wardrobe staple is the statement coat. This can mean a coat with embellishments or in a bright colour. Basically, it just has to make you feel fantastic when you put it on. It can turn the dullest of outfits into a catwalk-worthy ensemble. Make sure your statement coat is high-quality and well-lined to ensure it lasts forever. My favourite statement coat is my bright red coat from Massimo Dutti. It makes my (usually all black) outfits more colourful and exciting.

Massimo Dutti Red Statement Coat Wardrobe Staple

Red Coat

Sweater

The final wardrobe essential is the sweater. Picture a cold, rainy day. You can hear the raindrops falling outside, but you’re inside reading a book with a steaming cup of tea. And what are you wearing? That’s right, a sweater. For those days when you want to feel warm and cozy, you need a sweater. Nothing can replace it. I recommend five sweaters, or ten, or however many your closet can hold, but for those of you who prefer a minimalist approach, one is enough. My favourite sweater is an off-the-shoulder one from All Saints.

All Saints Sweater Staple

All Saints Sweater Essential

All Saints Sweater Essential

 

 

All Saints Sweater Staple

5 thoughts on “8 Wardrobe Essentials Every Woman Should Own

  1. Very good essentials. For my essentials, I have a moto style jacket and a comfy sweatshirt as well. For a moto jacket, I noticed it goes well both for work and going out and a comfy sweatshirt is my go-to for when it gets cold (as of now, I feel like I need to update it haha)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

